Blob Primary Left

Profile

Blob Primary Right

Mute Channels and Direct Messages

Aleksandar Olic

For greater control over your notifications, you can mute specific channels or direct messages (DMs). Muting conversations allows you to read new messages when you want, without receiving notifications for new activity.

How muting works

  • Muted channels and DMs appear grayed out at the bottom of your channel list.
  • Other people can’t see which channels and DMs you’ve muted.
  • You’ll see a numbered badge next to conversations you’ve muted in your sidebar if you’ve been mentioned or received a DM.
  • The Threads view at the top of your sidebar appears bold if someone creates or replies to a thread from any message you’ve sent in a muted conversation.

Muting a channel

  1. Open a channel you’d like to mute
  2. Click the details icon at the top right
  3. Click More
  4. Choose Mute channel

Once muted, channel will appear dark gray.

  1. Open a channel you’d like to mute
  2. Tap on the details icon at the top right
  3. Toggle the switch on, next to Mute channel option in Channel details screen

Once muted, channel will be marked with dark gray.

The mute settings you apply on web or desktop app will be applied to your mobile app as well.

Muting a DM

Muting a DM will mute notifications for that conversation, but won’t affect messages sent by that specific member, app, or bot in other conversations.

  1. Open direct or group conversation you’d like to mute
  2. Click the details icon at the top right
  3. Click More
  4. Choose Mute channel

Once muted, conversation will appear dark gray.

  1. Open a conversation you’d like to mute
  2. Tap on the details icon at the top right
  3. Toggle the switch on, next to the Mute channel option in conversation details

Once muted, conversation will be marked dark gray.

The mute settings you apply on the Web or Desktop app will apply on your mobile app as well.