Blob Primary Left

Administration

Blob Primary Right

Customize Messages and Files Retention

isidora.komaromi@cake.com

As a default setting, on both free and paid plans, Pumble retains all messages and files, including audio and video clips, for the duration of your workspace’s lifetime. However, you have the option to customize your retention settings to automatically delete messages and files after a specified period.

This feature is available Enterprise plan exclusively and can be used by the Workspace Owner only.

Important information #

  • Message and file deletion is a permanent action. Make sure to handle these settings carefully.
  • Data deletions occur once a day, so any changes to your retention settings can result in quick data removal.
  • All messages and files, including pinned or saved ones, will be subject to the retention settings you apply. Replies are treated individually.

Messages in deleted channels are not affected by retention settings. If you delete a channel, all messages and revisions within it will be immediately permanently removed.

Adjust message retention settings #

To modify message retention preferences:

  1. Click on your Workspace name at the top left corner
  2. Hover over Workspace settings
  3. Select General settings from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to Message retention and click Expand
  5. Select preferred retention settings from the dropdowns for Public channels, Private channels and Direct messages
  6. Click Save changes to complete the action

Workspace Owners can choose among the following settings:

  • Keep everything
  • Keep all messages, but don’t track edits or deletions
  • Delete all messages after a specific time period (and choose the time period)

Tick the checkbox above Save changes button to allow members set their own retention period for private channels and DMs.

To adjust channel message retention directly from the channel:

  1. Click to open the channel details
  2. Click More 
  3. Click Edit #channel message history
  4. Choose preferred retention settings

Adjust file retention settings #

To modify file retention preferences:

  1. Click on your Workspace name at the top left corner
  2. Hover over Workspace settings
  3. Select General settings from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to File retention and click Expand
  5. Select preferred retention settings from the dropdown
  6. Click Save changes to complete the action

Workspace Owners can choose between these settings:

  • Keep all files
  • Delete all files after a specific time period (and choose the time period)

Setting file retention settings for specific conversations is not supported at the moment.