By archiving a channel, you will still preserve the conversation history, however it will no longer be open for new conversations or activities.

Things to anticipate when archiving a channel

  • The archive icon will be shown right next to the channel name.
  • Members will get notified that the channel has been archived.
  • If it's a public channel, members will be removed from it.
  • Messages and shared files will still be searchable inside the channel for your team members.
  • Each user can archive and unarchive a public channel.
  • Only channel members can archive private channels.
  • Channels can be deleted only by workspace owners and administrators.
  • Direct channels can not be archived or deleted by users.

Archiving a channel

  1. Tap on the information details icon within the channel on the top right corner.
  2. First tap on . . . More, and then on Additional options.
  3. Select Archive this channel.
  4. Confirm the action by tapping on Yes, archive this channel.

It is also possible to set a channel back to being active, see below how:

  1. Tap on the Channel browser option on the top left corner.
  2. Search for the channel you wish to make active again, or simply type the name of the Channel in the search bar.
  3. Click on the details icon in the top right corner from within the channel.
  4. Tap on Make active.

Deleting a channel

It is possible to delete a channel permanently from your Pumble Workspace. Just keep in mind that the better option would be to simply archive it in order to preserve the conversation history within the channel.

If you are sure about deleting the channel, please do the following:

  1. Tap on the channel you wish to delete.
  2. Tap on the Information details icon in the top right corner.
  3. Tap on . . . More, and then on Additional options.
  4. Select Delete this channel.
  5. To confirm, check the box Yes, I want to permanently delete this channel, and then simply tap on Delete channel.

Deleting a previously archived channel

Since archived channels remain being a part of your Workspace, it is also possible to delete them as well. You can see here how you can do that.

  1. Tap on the Channel browser option on the top left corner.
  2. Tap on Filters, and select Archived channels from the drop down list.
  3. Search for the archived channel that you wish to delete.
  4. Open that channel.
  5. Tap on the Information details icon in the top right corner.
  6. Tap on . . . More, and then Delete.
  7. To confirm, check the box Yes, I want to permanently delete this channel, and then simply tap on Delete channel.