Blob Primary Left

Administration

Blob Primary Right

Permissions

Tamara Radijevac

Adjust workspace-wide settings and preferences in the workspace administration.

Mentions #

Set who can use @channel and @here.

People who can use @channel and @here in all channels, except #general:

  • Everyone (default)
  • Everyone, except guests
  • Owners and Admins only
  • Owners only

Users who do not have permissions to use mentions will not see them in the mentions list after entering the @ symbol or typing @here or @channel. If they type the whole mention, mention will be displayed as plain text.

Show warning when using @channel or @here (in channels with at least 6 members):

  • Always
  • The first time each day
  • Once
  • Never (default)

When a user wants to use mention in a channel that has more than 6 members, the information modal comes up to ask him if he is sure because he will alert all channel members using one of these mentions.

Separate channel settings (only #general for now) override general workspace settings for mention permissions. Therefore, the settings for mentions from the Workspace permissions do not apply to #general.

Invitations #

By default, any member can invite new people to your workspace.

You can set who can invite new people to your workspace to:

  • Everyone, except guests (default)
  • Owners and Admins only
  • Owners only

Channel management #

Choose who can create, archive, remove members, and manage posting permissions in channels.

Who can create private channels:

  • Everyone, plus Multi-Channel guests (default)
  • Everyone, except Multi-Channel guests
  • Admins and Owners only
  • Owners only

Who can create public channels:

  • Everyone, except guests (default)
  • Admins and Owners only
  • Owners only

Who can archive channels:

  • Everyone, except guests (default)
  • Admins and Owners only
  • Owners only

Who can remove members from private channels:

  • Everyone, except guests (default)
  • Admins and Owners only
  • Owners only

Who can remove members from public channels:

  • Everyone, except guests
  • Admins and Owners only (default)
  • Owners only

Who can manage posting permissions in channels:

  • Everyone (default)
  • Admins and Owners only

User groups #

Set who can create and manage user groups (PAID feature).

Who can create and disable user groups:

  • Everyone, except guests
  • Admins and Owners only (default)

Who can modify user groups:

  • Everyone, except guests
  • Admins and Owners only (default)

Once created (@admins, @owners) they can only be deactivated and not deleted.

Editing and deleting messages #

Choose when to allow message editing and deletion (You can also configure workspace-wide message retention settings).

Allow editing:

  • Any time (default)
  • Never
  • Up to 1 minute after posting
  • Up to 5 minutes after posting
  • Up to 30 minutes after posting
  • Up to 1 hour after posting
  • Up to 24 hours after posting
  • Up to 1 week after posting

Who can delete messages:

  • Everyone (default)
  • Owners and Admins only